Espresso Gingerbread Cake

IMG_20131114_184536

Good Morning Guys:) I’ve been in this super Baking Mode since the Holidays have hit and I feel so blessed that I am able to home stay, taking of the girls, baking and work on this page for everyone who follows…. Thankful to our Lord for giving my wonderful husband the means for me to be able to focus on my baking business ( soon to opening a farmers market booth in spring of next year).  I’ll been flipping though old magazines, old new paper clipping of recipes, print outs of recipes I said years ago that I would try out but never made them… So since I am know longer working for everyone for the rest of this year, which is short I know … I’m going to bake all the recipes I have never tried and always wanted to make:)

First Recipe on the Menu Box comes from Fine Cooking Holiday Baking Winter 2004

Espresso Gingerbread Cake

Yields 1 large bun cake or 4 mini loaves

Ok so I love all holiday flavors and when I was flip though this magazine and read the recipe I know I had some left of coffee from this morning pot and said try not start off with this one… Hey I didn’t have to go to the store to get anything to starting baking … I turn my oven onto 350 F , found my bun pan and got to work….

Start you need: Take out 1 1/4 cup of unsalted butter to soften and 5 eggs to get to room temperature

 Put together all the dry ingredients

2 1/2 cups of all purpose flour,2 tsp. baking powder, 1/2 tsp. salt ,1/4 tsp. baking soda, 2 tsp. ground ginger, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon,1/8 tsp. ground nutmeg, 1/8 tsp. ground cloves and 1 tbsp. instant espresso powder. Sift all these together and set a side.

IMG_20131114_122624

Now in a liquid measuring cup, whisk together 1/2 cup of very strong brewed coffee and 1/2 cup of dark molasses, set a side.

In a mixer or using your hand mixer( if you don’t have a kitchen aid or a hand mixer please save up and get one its a most) Cream the 1 1/4 cup unsalted butter  with 1 1/4 cup light brown sugar on medium speed until light and fluffy.
IMG_20131114_123332

Add the 3 eggs and 2 egg yolks one at a time. Stopping to scrape the bowl after each addition.IMG_20131114_123745

Now slowly add half of the flour mix and half of the coffee mix into the bowl and mix until combine, add the rest of the flour and coffee continue to mix until the batter is smooth.IMG_20131114_124751

 IMG_20131114_125209

Take your bun pan and spray it down well with baking Pam. I trust me spray it well!!!

  IMG_20131114_130429

Spoon in the batter, place the bun pan on a cookie sheet and slide the cake into the oven to bake for about 40 minutes. Set the bun pan on the cooling rack and let cool for 15 minutes. Invert the cake onto the cooling rack, remove the pan, and let cool just barely warm.IMG_20131114_183839

Drizzle with Espresso Glaze.

Espresso Glaze

1 cup confectioners’ sugar and 1 1/2 tbsp. instant espresso powder dissolved in 1 1/2 tbsp. hot water. Whisk all together and Pour round the Cake.

One thought on “Espresso Gingerbread Cake

  1. Pingback: Gingerbread Cake with Chocolate Glaze | Remote Control-Proof

Leave a Reply

